The Answer To Life, The Universe, And Everything

“How Many Roads Must a Man Walk Down?”

Fascinating question. No, really. The lack of my usual sarcasm even startles me. Odd right? But the simplicity of it makes you think: What if… I never knew?

Never knew what was “wrong” all those years as a child? Never understood why I couldn’t quite keep up with the rest of the world with out several naps? Never discovered that I had Narcolepsy? Where would I be? What would I be doing? Would everything be different? The same? Better? Worse? Who was I? Who Am I? Who will I become?

After five years of pushing the idea of not allowing a diagnosis to become who you are, as a patient advocate, I feel I have inadvertently ignored my own advice. Not maliciously, mind you, but I simply do not have the energy to be everything to everyone and still be true to myself and live my own life. As much as I love being able to help others who are just starting down the nightmare road of sleep disorders, there just isn’t enough time between naps.

It’s never good to live in the past too long. And because of being diagnosed with Narcolepsy, and going through the ups and downs of acceptance,  it didn’t seem so daunting anymore. The questions I have had all my life are answered, and I can finally put my past away and move on with my life. It can be whatever I want it to be… as soon as I stop standing at the corner of Narcolepsy Blvd and Cataplexy Lane, and move forward.

I dont know where “forward” will take me. I kind of like that. I’m just going to put down everything, pick up my towel… and go.

This is my last entry. I will leave the blog up, just because someone someday might want to read it. And excuse the lack of humbleness, but some of these entries are incredibly clever. LOL. Even if I am only amusing myself! I want to thank all my friends, and readers for following and supporting me. And Congratulate miander42 on being the winner of my contest. Great minds and all that right? Please Email me at Marcia.was.here@gmail.com so I can get your information!

Well that is all I guess. Sweet Dreams My Friends.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.”

 

5 thoughts on “The Answer To Life, The Universe, And Everything

  1. miander42 says:

    Such a bittersweet entry. If you ever need a change of scenery, you are welcome to join me at the Intersection of Art and Life. You’ll know you found me as I’ll be the one sleeping on my towel. And remember DON’T PANIC – Everything’s going to be fine.

  2. Marcia, I will certainly miss your posts. You are VERY clever. I love what you wrote here about moving on from the past and finding new adventures. You are a beacon of light and I’m glad narcolepsy brought us together as friends. Cheering you on always, Julie

  3. Marcianna says:

    Thank you Julie. That really means so much! I will definitely keep in touch!

  4. Marcianna says:

    Lol! Thank you! I feel for once, I won’t be panicking! All in accordance with the prophecy, everything will indeed be fine. Congrats!

  5. Marcianna says:

    I just want to give a special thanks to my dear friend Mike who wrote me privately an extremely heart felt message, expressing his gratitude, for my blog, and my friendship. It really truly meant a great deal. (I totally cried, shhh don’t tell, you’ll ruin my rep….) Especially from someone without narcolepsy.
    Remember my dear pwn friends, its great to find each other, but don’t gravitate towards “us against them” there are a lot of “them’s” out there who DO listen and understand. If we shut them out, we lose touch with the bigger picture in our lives… OF our lives.

    Xoxo Mike & Vicki

Leave a Reply

